Review: Lucy Knisley, French Milk

I devoured this book in a little over an hour. It’s my first graphic novel (actually a graphic memoir), but it was just so fabulous and especially reminiscent of my own life. My mom and I went to Paris together for only a few days, and we were 16 and 43 at the time, not 22 and 50, but there’s the same age difference between us and Lucy and her mom, and I really related to the way Lucy chronicled her six weeks in Paris. All about the food, but also I like how she’s very real about her more dep…more I devoured this book in a little over an hour. It’s my first graphic novel (actually a graphic memoir), but it was just so fabulous and especially reminiscent of my own life. My mom and I went to Paris together for only a few days, and we were 16 and 43 at the time, not 22 and 50, but there’s the same age difference between us and Lucy and her mom, and I really related to the way Lucy chronicled her six weeks in Paris. All about the food, but also I like how she’s very real about her more depressed days. I definitely had my share of those both on our brief Paris trip and during my six months abroad in Ireland (with intermittent trips to France) when I was 20/21. Lucy is actually my exact same age (just a couple of months older), and so there was a real sense of connection. But aside from all that personal stuff, it’s just fun, and funny, and it really flows. Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

