In the Reading Queue

I haven’t actually finished that many books since the last update, though I am currently reading five.  Of the books I did finish, I liked a few.  Hero by Perry Moore is a novel about a gay teenager dealing with homophobia and questions in his family’s past while auditioning to be part of a superhero league in his city.  I thought it was fun and at times insightful.  I’ve wanted to read Alan Hollinghurst’s most popular novel, The Swimming-Pool Library, for a while now.  I thought that it was good, yes, but not as intriguing as Line of Beauty. This one takes place in a pre-AIDS world and it seems a little jumbled, meandering at times.  I listened to Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love on audiobook, and I really like her reading style, as well as the book itself.  Maybe it’s just that I’m a fan of travel memoirs, but I found it a really nice relaxing read.

So right now, as I said, I’m on five different books.  I’m about halfway through A.J. Jacobs’ The Know-It-All, a book about reading the encyclopedia that is rather boring and self-involved.  I don’t recommend it.  On audiobook, I’m listening to Kate Mosse’s Sepulchre.  I loved her first novel but I’m not quite into this one.  Then on e-book, I’m reading Ursula K. LeGuin’s Left Hand of Darkness, which is really intriguing so far.  I like it a little bit better than the Earthsea cycle.  To continue my feminist education, I’m about fifty pages into Manifesta by Jennifer Baumgardener and Amy Richards.  It’s one of the better Third Wave books I’ve read, maybe a bit of a repeat on things I already knew at times but well-written.  And finally, I’m maybe 75 pages into Marlee Matlin’s autobiography, I’ll Scream Later.  I like how she breaks the chapters into short chunks, and I was surprised to find that it is a proper autobiography, not just a tell-all book, after all the press about her molestation and drug abuse.  She’s my favourite actress, so I’m glad to find that I like the book.

Leave a Reply

